Skip to content

SNOW!!!

December 10, 2012

Ahhh! Today was supposed to be a day filled with studying and productivity, but those ideas got derailed with the arrival of snow!

So the day started out normally: woke up at 11, got some breakfast, and did some homework. However, at about 1 P.M., which is when Ali was selling falafels (which are amazing), the first snowflakes started drifting through the air. However, the fall of snow soon increased exponentially, and, before I knew it, the entire was covered by a white blanket of snow.

So this obviously put a huge dent in my plans to get work done, so I decided to just check out the pandemonium on lower campus. Because there are quite a number of people from tropical climates and other non-snowbearing regions, it was a first time for some people. Seeing their reactions to the falling snow was priceless. Living in Illinois and Canada for the memorable parts of my life, I always took snow as annual rite. It was something that always happened around the end of the year, and it was always a time of holly and fun. This is the reason that it’s so memorable to see others who haven’t experienced snow before. Surely, they have heard of snow, so the experience must have been surreal. To have heard about this mystical element of our natural world and to have only seen it or heard about it and never experience it must have been agonizing. But surely the rejoice at seeing it must have been worth the wait. 🙂

Anyhow, so I went down to lower campus to see everyone frolicking, people playing frisbee, and snow angels being formed. After a while, I went back upstairs and hung out with Maria and Karen for the majority of the afternoon. I did quite a bit of math because my exam is tomorrow. After dinner, Yvette came over and we tried to make cupcakes/muffins, but the ovens were being used so we had to postpone our plans. After this, I dozed off for a good two hours and woke up at check…

At check, I was told about the annual Kozzy-Kili tradition with the first snowfall. So, in the history of our UWC, Kozzy used to be located where Kili was vice-versa; now, obviously, their position is switched. And, in order to celebrate this relationship between Kozzy and Kili, the first snowfall of the year triggers debauchery and tradition  idiocy.

Anyways, at around 9:55 P.M., all of Kozzy made their way down to Kili to start the tradition. I, myself, was wearing flips-flops, jeans, and a sweater; and it was absolutely freezing outside. It’s safe to say that the trek down to Kili was troublesome enough. So, when we got to Kili, Kili had already started running to the field, and that was when we had to hide all of our clothes in case Kili decided to hide our clothes. I decided to hide my clothes in the cabinets, which, in retrospect, was a very stupid move because it’s probably one of the most obvious places one can hide his/her stuff. So, anyhow, we started making our way to the side door of Kili, where we saw Kili coming back into their dorm. We ran across the entire field with only our boxers, and it was freezing. While we were running, Denali came out and attempted to tackle and throw snowballs at us. Luckily, I escaped their clutches, made two snow angels in the snow, and ran back to Kili with my feet on the verge of falling off. Once we were in Kili, we all took showers in their first-floor bathrooms to warm-up, and, upon leaving the bathroom, found out that our clothes had been stolen from us. It took a long time for me to find all of my apparel because my stuff was scattered among the various hiding places. I first found my sweater, and then one flip-flop, and then the other flip-flop, and finally my T-shirt, pants, and towel.

We had a nice moment of camaraderie in Kili’s dayroom before heading upstairs. While heading upstairs, a lot of things happened. Daiki (Japan, 14′) told me that this was the first time that he “felt death.” I could empathize as I legitimately worried about getting frostbite while I was sprinting through the cold. As soon as we made our way to the stairs, our group of Kozzy boys were ambushed by Denali, and I got hit in the head with a snowball. 😦

So we got back up, warmed up, and then chilled before getting to work. I reviewed a little math before getting to sleep. Alright, finals are tomorrow, and I have to go asleep.

From → UWC

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment